About Me

The usual boring details: I live in 🏁 Indianapolis with my husband, our daughter, and approximately 🌵 30 houseplants (I’m slowly running out of space for my family). Despite being almost 35 years old, I’m still trying to figure out who exactly I am.

As it turns out, you are not handed a card at the age of 30 declaring you an Offical Adult along with AI-generated guidelines to fulfill your assigned role. I can tell you that I’ve always adored computers, ever since I was a wee one of 8, wasting computer paper making books on my dad’s Amiga Commodore 64. We acquired our first Windows machine when I was an older pre-teen/young teen, and my book-making skills translated into several Internet ventures: a newsletter that I sent out via AOL Zine World, a multitude of personal pages graciously hosted by friends filled with maudlin poetry and artwork, a highly customized Neopets website, and of course my well-maintained LiveJournal that was constantly tweaked.

Between then and now has been a hot mess of trying to suss out what exactly I wanted to do with the rest of my life. Between the ages of 21 and 30, I have: dropped out of art school, moved four times between three states, went back to school, changed my major at least five times (that I can remember), and worked as a barista for 2.5 years on the weekends while trying on my new role as a mostly stay-at-home mom. On the outside, my life probably looked like one distasterous decision after another. Some of them thankfully worked out for the better, like meeting a guy on World of Warcraft and moving in with him after only four months (we’re celebrating 8 years together in October, for the record). After December, I will finally have my first degree…in field I’ve decided that I absolutely do NOT want to work in (yay!).

In the lull of the 2020 pandemic, I decided to go back to my first love of computers and making shit on the Internet, and threw myself full force into re-learning HTML and CSS, programming, and getting myself up-to-date on all the technology that didn’t exist when I first started making web pages at the age of 11 (React is blowing my mind!). I’ve been using the lovely 100 Days of Code community to light a fire under my ass and keep me going.

When not coding, I’ve got my fingers in all sorts of pies:

  1. I love 🎨 art in all of its many forms, but am particularly drawn to weaving, painting, and mixed media drawing/collage.
  2. I’m an avid 📓 journaler and have been writing steadily since I was 18. I have a pile of notebooks in my office that sits about a foot and a half tall.
  3. I love 🏋️‍♀️ powerlifting, and in the spring of 2019 my husband and I built a home gym in our basement so we’d never have to wait for the power rack ever again.
  4. I’m a voracious 📚 reader, which as a kid got me in a lot of trouble (I snuck out of bed to read by my nightlight) AND a lot of free pizzas (through the infamous Pizza Hut Book It! program). I average about 60-70 books a year, and favor sci-fi, fantasy, and non-fiction.